But….. What’s your excuse?

                                                                     Image

We all know that guy or girl in the gym that could have always done better.  You know that person who comes up with reasons for why he or she didn’t excel in a workout. You’ll hear them talking about how they would’ve crushed that workout, but *insert excuse.  Maybe it was “I drank too much last night.” Or, “I’m didn’t get enough sleep last night.” “I PRed yesterday.” “I’m so sore.” I’ve heard it all, and I am sure you have too.

You could be the type of person that doesn’t state your excuses out loud. Maybe you secretly tell them to yourself? You reassure yourself that you could’ve done the workout faster or lifted more weight, but ________. This secret talk can be just as dangerous as spelling it out for everyone!

Someone asked me during a seminar what separates elite crossfitters from everyone else? How do you get there?  Well… hard work and focus are a sure way. Attitude is another key ingredient. Do you think that the best of the best give themselves excuses for why they didn’t perform well on a certain day? They just think, “I’ve got to work harder. I’ve got to get better.”

I’m going to be completely honest. I’ve found my path back into CrossFit VERY difficult. I kept looking at my old numbers and getting discouraged. I know I can get there again, but I want it to happen yesterday!! I almost wish I had a superpower and could snap my fingers and poof – the old Alicia. 

                      Image

 

I’m getting my butt kicked by everyone! I feel badly because some of these people think they are crushing a “Games athlete”.  The fact of the matter is I’m not at that level right now.  I’m just someone trying to be fit.

On this path back, I’ve found myself doing things that I know aren’t productive. I’m sharing this with you NOT because I am proud of this. I sharing this in the event that any of you find yourself doing the same thing.

For a while I was using my surgery and time off as an excuse.  When my back squat was 20 pounds under where it used to be, I thought to myself…. BUT, I had major surgery. When I was resting in the middle of a metcon unable to breath, I thought… I could go faster BUT I’ve taken 10 months off.  I’m giving myself EXCUSES. I’m playing that game; that I could have, would have, and should have game. I’m using that word…. But.

                               Image

By giving myself an excuse, my mind thinks it’s okay to be mediocre.  I have now convinced myself that my back squat being 20 pounds under where it should be is acceptable. I’ve lost the battle with myself because I’ve become complacent. Am I doing myself an injustice? Absolutely!

Okay.  It is not the end of the world in CrossFit, but you can apply this to anything in your life.  Anytime you don’t succeed at something, do not give yourself an excuse for your failure.  Instead, refocus your mind.  Think about how you can succeed next time you are in that situation.  How can you get that raise you want? You surely aren’t going to get it by doing mediocre work and telling yourself it’s because your boss is a jerk. Stop giving yourself excuses and start empowering you.

I haven’t been able to do double unders for about 11 months. For some reason, they put me in a ridiculous amount of pain. I don’t know if it was the wrist flick, the speed, — it really affected my incision site. Every time I attempted them, I felt awful. Now that I can do them without pain, I suck at them. I think my body is revolting against me. It’s like “nope, you aren’t doing this to me again!”

The last two weeks they just happened to be in the workouts I was doing. Boy, have I gotten my butt handed to me! I’ll do approximately five and have to reset. How frustrating?! Today, I told myself I would just relax and do them. There were sets of 50 in the 12 min workout I was attempting. I messed up A LOT, but I kept telling myself that I was doing SO much better than last week. I got through it. I didn’t get frustrated. And, you know what?  They were better.  I am one step closer to the old Alicia! I am one step closer to being fit. How exciting is that? It was so much more productive than telling myself that I suck at them BUT I had surgery.

The way you talk to yourself is SO important. I’m going out on a limb to say that all of the athletes that qualified to the CrossFit Games are fit. Everyone there is capable of winning. The ones you see on the podium are the ones that have mastered positive self-talk. They also don’t settle, and they don’t give up.  But, they also know how to talk to themselves.

Next time you tell yourself WHY you didn’t do well on a WOD; reframe those words in your head. Tell yourself HOW you are going to do better the next time you line up with a barbell or jump up on a pull-up bar. You can unlock your own potential by believing in your abilities. Stop giving yourself excuses to coast through life and start living it!! 

                           Image

 

One thought on “But….. What’s your excuse?

  1. Sophia says:

    are you ever going to post another article? i love everything you’ve posted so far!

Leave a Reply

