Why people fall in love with CrossFit?

Me, a while ago, playing around with a medicine ball

When I started CrossFit, I fell in love with it. As a coach and athlete, I see so many people doing the same. Now that I am recovering from my surgery, I realize how much I miss it and why. There are so many reason why I love CrossFit. But, why do other people love it so much? These are just some reason I came up with. Do you agree or disagree? I’d love to hear why you fell in love with what you do.

It’s as addicting as a chocolate bar and post WOD you don’t feel guilty.

You learn that you are stronger (mentally and physically) then you ever thought you could be.

A barbell won’t talk back to you.

When you walk in the doors of the gym, you feel like Norm from Cheers.

It makes you feel beautiful / handsome and gives you a confidence that you can’t really explain.

You don’t have to lock up your valuables at the gym.

You feel like you are invincible, much like a superhero.

With all the sad news on television, it makes your worldwide much more positive. You realize there are a lot of wonderful people out there.

In this community, you know you belong.

It gives you the opportunity to challenge yourself on a daily basis and become healthier in the process.

You like the way your butt looks in your jeans.

If your mood is low, it always makes you feel better.

You meet quality people who you would have never met.

You can go head to head with the Tom Brady’s of CrossFit.

Your energy level increases making for a better quality of life.

You have a healthy avenue to take out your frustrations.

Getting older doesn’t feel so bad anymore. It’s actually called “70 years young”.

CrossFit doesn’t leave the toilet seat up.

CrossFit can’t disappoint you, only you can disappoint yourself.

It’s always there when you need it. You can do a WOD in your house, office, or at a park.

With CrossFit around, who needs a significant other? You could just date CrossFit. The only thing it’s lacking is it can’t hug you back. I guess that’s what the trainers/coaches are for?  And, who hasn’t had a major crush on one of their coaches? I know I have. I now call him my boyfriend.

Brent and I

8 thoughts on “Why people fall in love with CrossFit?

  1. Lizzy Tarpinian says:

    I love this! I wish more of my friends/family/boyfriend understood why CrossFit is so addicting. It is the ultimate love/hate relationship, but I must say I’ve loved every painful minute of it.

  2. Judi says:

    It really does make you feel like Norm from Cheers haha and I love that but what I love the most and can’t quite put in words is what you said about giving you a confidence you can’t really explain. It’s so true and you really can’t explain it….at least I can’t!!

  3. Stacey says:

    Crossfit is my boyfriend, we had a wonderful Valentines day together last year 🙂 All the other reasons are spot on too! Crossfit is my happy place, when I walk in the doors, whatever happened that day goes away, its just me, the weights, and some amazing people.

  4. Jeffb says:

    Alicia, it’s amazing that you say you feel like a superhero… I have notes for a blog I’m writing with those exact words. It’s crazy. With eating Paleo and following the training WODs and coaching, you really feel like you can do anything and you want others to feel the same. It is an outlet, therapy, medicine, a local hangout and “the Happy Place”. 🙂 And the seat is always down because it’s the only place we get to rest!!! 🙂

  5. Renee says:

    Great post…like you read my mind!

  6. PDiddy says:

    Ummm. You are a superhero….

  7. Jess says:

    Alicia, you seemed to put perfectly into words every reason why I am now in love with Crossfit. It really has been what I have been looking for ever since my gymnastics days-the gym just doesn’t/has never cut it. Crossfit has given me more confidence in my body, my strength, my ability to lift very heavy weights without feeling ashamed or uncomfortable but the contrary-proud and accepted. It’s only been a month and a half and i’m 100% addicted and will never go back to anything else.

Leave a Reply

