Prepared for the unknowable

Image

 

I love weights!! I’m giving this one a big hug because of where it’s gotten me. The weights and functional movements of CrossFit have done so much for my overall health. And, I know that it has prepared me for this new obstacle. I have no doubt that my physical fitness will make my recovery time quicker. Years ago, I used to have “bad” knees, ”bad” shoulders, and a “bad” back. I had some many injuries due to the beautiful sport of gymnastics. Fortunately, CrossFit has rehabbed my body.

I still remember my first CrossFit workout with Danny V, now the owner of CrossFit Full Potential.  He had me do Cindy for 5-10 minutes. I don’t actually remember how long he made me do this workout? I do remember a few things though…

I remember it wasn’t nearly 20 minutes, which is the timeframe of the workout. I remember how awful I felt during and after the work out. I remember my arms shaking on the push-ups and how stubborn I was. I didn’t want to go down to my knees, but I had to for that last round. I remember how out of shape I felt. I think Danny knew that dropping to my knees was a breaking point for me and stopped the clock. I was SO out of shape and so upset with my level of fitness.

Image

 

I hadn’t done anything in a year and a half.  When I say that I didn’t do anything, I really couldn’t do anything. I had gotten heart surgery and had complications. These complications made it so I couldn’t use my arms to lift anything without chest pain. These limitations made my job impossible to do. I could no longer coach gymnastics. I couldn’t spot my gymnasts.

I felt like an elephant was sitting on my chest. The pressure was unbearable! I took the summer off from working. In the fall, I entered into my teaching career. Projecting my voice at school was so trying. I found myself sitting at lunch fighting back tears from the pain in my chest. It was awful!

My first year of CrossFit, I worked on form. I didn’t even know what I’d be capable of with this whole heart issue going on. Working on perfecting my movement patterns caused my body to stop hurting. CrossFit was a lifesaver! I can walk without knee pain, my chest pain is gone and my shoulder no longer aches. How amazing is this sport?

I believe it will help me fight this new obstacle in my way. I know we can’t control what life throws at us, but we can control how we react to it. We can control how prepared we are for these obstacles. I am SO ready. I am in the best physical shape of my life. And, mentally I can tackle anything! We can control the way we deal with these challenges. I will continue to stay strong both physically and mentally. I believe that my positive attitude and outlook will carry me through this experience. 

I wanted to thank all of you for your out pouring of support. I truly appreciate it, and I know that I am going to be just fine. Not only am I prepared for the unknowable, but I have the best support system in the world! I love you all!!

Image

 

 

2 thoughts on “Prepared for the unknowable

  1. kellyguillory says:

    Great blog post!

  2. Pam S says:

    You are inspirational

Leave a Reply

